Dev Diary #1: About Me - A Lone Programmer

Dev Diary #1: About Me - A Lone Programmer

·

0 min read

A Brief Introduction

Hi I'm Eric a developer based from Philippines. I am currently working as a fulltime back-end developer for a client that whose project is a large Parcel Company.

Right now I am working alone on a co-working space, it means that I work on a shared desk where I could be sitting beside from someone that works for a different company.

It's kinda hard, as a developer it is very hard that there's no one I could talk with something technical, an on the spot scenario where I could talk to a co-worker or a teammate. If you wanna know, my teammates for this projects are currently located at Cebu (a faraway province from where I reside) and at Sweden (where my clients and the rest of team are).

As of now, I have made it actually work for me - working alone comfortably by devising a routine or something that I could cope up with.

My Routines

Being An Early Bird

Like the old saying said:

The early bird catches the worm.

But for me, it should be:

The early bird catches the early worm.

Kidding aside, yes - being early has a lot of advantages. You could start and get things done early in the morning. While you have that hype, you could use that hype to do those priorities. I'm working on a company where we obliged to send a report about the past days activities, just for tracking purposes; so doing it early in the morning is very advantageous.

Bug fixes, that "hyped" feeling that I talked about - you could possibly come up with a solution on your bugs while your brain is still fresh condition.

Good Music

lofisample.png

I really love to listen on some of relaxing musics. I recommend a Lo Fi genre, best for helping me to get myself focused on my task.

I usually tune up the volume of my laptop's on a level that I could hear a nearby voice if someone will approach me.

Coffee and Nap

programming-coffee-to-code-cover.jpg

Yep, I guess every programmers' favorite drink - COFFEE. Coffee makes a stimulation on our brain to have this good sensation, a sensation that keep us awake.

I usually take a good cup of coffee twice a day, 1 every 10:00 AM and another one every 3:00 PM.

A nap is also helpful, I always take a 30 minutes nap after lunch break. Against sleepiness actually makes my head hurt, so it would be wise to take a nap if needed.

Conclusion

Though it is very hard for me, at least personally - to don't have someone to speak up, it doesn't mean I'm not actually alone. I could still make a Slack Call on my remote teammates if they're not busy or just engage them on a chat.

Maybe I should level up my social skill so I have the courage to make a connection to some people around here.

This is for now, for my first post on HashNode. You could comment down your routine as a programmer or your thoughts about this entry.

Happy programming everyone.